## **City Council**

#### Friday 21 May 2021

#### **PRESENT:**

Councillor Terri Beer, in the Chair.

Councillor Maddi Bridgeman, Vice Chair.

Councillors Allen, Mrs Aspinall, Mrs Beer, Bingley, Bowyer, Mrs Bowyer, Mrs Bridgeman, Buchan, Carlyle, Coker, Collins, Corvid, Dr Cree, Cresswell, Dann, Deacon, Derrick, Downie, Drean, Evans OBE, Goslin, Harrison, Haydon, Hendy, Hulme, James, Mrs Johnson, Jordan, Kelly, Laing, Loveridge, Lowry, Dr Mahony, McDonald, Morris, Murphy, Nicholson, Partridge, Patel, Penberthy, Mrs Pengelly, Rennie, Riley, Salmon, Shayer, Singh, Smith, Stevens, Stoneman, Tuffin, Vincent, Wakeham, Ms Watkin and Wheeler.

Apologies for absence: Councillors Churchill and Neil

The meeting started at 10:30 and finished at 11:23.

Note: The full discussion can be viewed on the webcast of the City Council meeting at <a href="https://www.plymouth.gov.uk">www.plymouth.gov.uk</a>. At a future meeting, the Council will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

# 1. To elect the Lord Mayor and to appoint the Lord Mayor's Chaplain for the period up to the next Annual Meeting

Council agreed that Councillor Terri Beer is elected Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing year.

The Lord Mayor announced the appointment of Fr Robert Harris at St Mary's Church, Plympton as her Chaplain and she would arrange to transfer the Lord Mayor's chaplaincy insignia to Fr Harris.

# 2. To elect the Deputy Lord Mayor for the period up to the next Annual Meeting

Council agreed that Councillor Maddi Bridgeman is elected Deputy Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing year.

#### 3. Vote of thanks to the Retiring Lord Mayor and Deputy Lord Mayor

Council accorded to Alderman Chris Mavin the sincere thanks of the Citizens of Plymouth for the invaluable services he has rendered to the City as Lord Mayor since May 2020, and for the able manner in which he has presided over the deliberations of the Council during that period.

The Council also expresses its indebtedness to Darren Winter for his diligent and efficient discharge of the duties of Deputy Lord Mayor, and to Councillor Sue Dann as the Lady Mayoress and to Miss Helen Raynor as Deputy Lady Mayoress, who have supported them during their year in office.

#### 4. To elect the Leader of the City Council

Agreed that Councillor Nick Kelly was elected Leader of the City Council.

# 5. To note the Membership of the Cabinet

The Council received the report of Councillor Nick Kelly which advised that the Cabinet would comprise the following members:

- Councillor Patrick Nicholson Deputy Leader
- Councillor Mark Deacon Customer Services, Culture, Leisure & Sport
- Councillor Dave Downie Education, Skills and Children and Young People
- Councillor John Riley Governance, HR, IT & Community Safety
- Councillor Jonathan Drean Transport
- Councillor Vivien Pengelly Homes and Communities
- Councillor Maddi Bridgeman Environment & Street Scene

Council noted the membership of Cabinet.

A point of order was raised on this matter by Councillor Evans OBE. This was not accepted by the Lord Mayor and Councillor Evans OBE asked for his disappointment to be noted.

#### 6. To agree Committees and their Members and appoint Chairs and Vice Chairs

A schedule of the nominations to committees, joint committees, panels etc was submitted.

Agreed that approval was given to the appointments to committees, joint committees, panels etc and their chairs and vice chairs for the transaction of the business of the Council until the next Annual Meeting as set out in the list circulated.

## 7. To appoint representatives to Outside Bodies

A schedule of the nominations to outside bodies was submitted.

Agreed that approval was given to the appointments and nominations of councillors and others as representatives on outside bodies as indicated.